How to avoid Plagiarism

Have you ever written an article and wondered how to avoid plagiarism? Are you sure to cite sources correctly? In fact it is not always easy to know how to correctly report and refer to ideas and findings of other people. However, wrong behaviors can have consequences.

Here you can find many information on what good scientific practices and plagiarism are, on how to cite other people’s work correctly, on how to avoid plagiarism and on why it is important to respect other people’s ideas.

Have a look at the FAQs to find answers to your questions about plagiarism, find more detailed explanations in the Knowledge Base section and explore available trainings or webinars on the topic. In the last section you can find a selection of useful external resources about plagiarism.

FAQs

Citations / Quotes

4.1.2-1 When I quote from a work, do I always have to mention the author?

Yes. Where the source indicates the author's designation, the author's name must also be cited, Art. 25 para. 2 CopA. It should be noted that quotations are not only governed by copyright law; it is also good scientific practice to provide correct quotations.

5.5-1 May a person cite excerpts of film, music and images?

Yes, even if they have been the subject of controversy in the literature to date, images and work excerpts are now recognised. However, in the process, it is important that you also disclose images, films and music as quotations, and correctly specify the source (Art. 25 CopA).

5.5-2 May I use a quotation in a work that has been put online? For example, an image or a music excerpt on my homepage?

Yes, pursuant to the law, it is irrelevant in which medium (book, pictorial, homepage, app, film,…) a quotation is used. However, it is decisive that the quotation has an explanatory, informational or illustrative function, is covered in the scope of the purpose of the quote, is disclosed as a quote, and the source is specified (Art. 25 para. 2 CopA).

May I just select an image from Google for a PowerPoint presentation and insert it into my presentation without any further ado?

If the image is a copyright-protected work (and that is generally the case), then it may only be used with the consent of the author and the owner of rights. However, the image can be entered into the presentation as a ‘pictorial quotation’. Then it has to serve an explanatory, informational or illustrative function, be covered in the scope of the purpose of the quote, be disclosed as a quote and the source specified (Art. 25 para. 2 CopA).

5.5-4 May I quote an unpublished work?

No, only published works may be quoted. However, in individual cases, the justification of the protection of legitimate interests may exist so that the quotation of unpublished works can also be justified. For example, public interest in a dispute with historical facts is ranked more highly than the interest of the author not to publish his work. (c.f. BVerfG, decision dated 17.12.1999 - 1 BvR 1611/99 in ZUM 2000, 316 in this regard).

5.5-5 May I cite an extract from a scientific article in which I am the co-author without citing exact sources in a new article?

No, if the source is not given, this is considered to be (auto-)plagiarism. In accordance with good scientific practice, you are not permitted to copy from yourself without disclosing that you have done so.

What is protected?

2.2.1-1 What can be problematic in the case of the copyright protection of scientific works?

The scientific idea is not protected by copyright. This includes statements, discoveries and results from states, events, research and other facts. These have no creative content of their own.

2.2.1-2 May a university lecturer use the biographical information from a PhD student’s thesis on the life and work of a psychoanalyst for a presentation without citing the thesis? Can this be considered an infringement of copyright?

No, because biographical data is considered to be in the public domain as it was not creatively developed by the PhD student (for more information, see the decision of the Federal Supreme Court BGE 113 II 306).

2.2.1-3 Is a theory presented in a scientific work protected by copyright?

Yes and no: the theory is not protected by copyright in its semantic content. It is a scientific statement and must be freely available to science. If the theory is designed creatively and individually in linguistic terms, it is at least protected in this linguistic form. If the theory is used word-for-word by a third party, the exception of quotation must be observed pursuant to Art. 25 CopA; otherwise, the presumption of a work exists (plagiarism).

2.2.1-4 Is a teaching book or a textbook protected by copyright?

Basically yes, when the textbook or parts of it have creative and individual elements. The form of representation in particular can be protected, i.e. the structure of the textbook, the way the contents are put together, the form of linguistic communication (e.g. through images, tables, diagrams, etc.), the language itself (e.g. for laypeople without specialist vocabulary or humorous descriptions).

However, the (teaching) methods or the knowledge about them which is transmitted by the book are not protected because parts of already known, tested and researched matter are summarised for the purpose of knowledge transfer.

2.2.1-5 Are mathematical formulas, regulations or algorithms protected by copyright?

No, only when the developed formulas, regulations or algorithms are only rewritten exactly. Then there is no space for any creativeness. However, if they are recorded in specially thought up plans, tables, images, text descriptions, etc., they can be protected works if they are sufficiently original and individual.

Responsibility & Sanction

6.5.2-1 If I fail to indicate a source I have used, can I be punished?

Any person who intentionally omits to indicate the source used where required by statute and where the author is named therein, and to provide the name of the source is liable to a fine on the complaint of the person whose rights have been infringed (Art. 68 CopA). Failure to indicate the source is punishable only following a complaint and is not considered to be a serious enough contravention to be entered on the offender’s criminal record.

In addition, failure to indicate a source at an academic level or in research is considered to be unethical (violation of good scientific practice) and may lead to disciplinary action.

Knowledgebase

Find more detailed information on various aspects regarding plagiarism: 

 

Training

Webinar on Plagiarism & Good Scientific Practices

This webinar was held in German by Danielle Kaufmann. Unfortunately, the recording of the webinar is not available. 

 

Training Catalogue

Inside the training catalogue you can find a vast selection of training topics and formats, among which also a course on "Plagiarism & Good Scientific Practices in Academic Writing" (p. 12).
 

 

Advising

For any questions please do not hesitate to contact us either by e-mail (info@ccdigitallaw.ch), phone  (+41 58 666 49 30) or online chat:

USI students/employees can also book a tutoring session on plagiarism by writing an e-mail to info@ccdigitallaw.ch.

Oline Chat Times

English: responsible Melanie Graf (MLaw) - tel. +41 61 207 31 22, Live-Chat on Wednesday from 10:00-12:00 

French: responsible Yves Bauer (MLaw) - tel. +41 78 720 01 13, Live-Chat on Tuesday from 10:00-12:00

Italian: responsible lic. iur. Marcello Baggi - tel. +41 58 666 49 30, Live-Chat on Monday from 10:00-12:00

German: responsible Melanie Graf (MLaw) - tel. +41 61 207 31 22, Live-Chat on Wednesday from 10:00-12:00

 

External Resources

Video resources:

Times I Plagiarized (by The Odd1sOut)

Acceptable/Unacceptable (by University of Alberta)

 

Swiss Websites / Resources

International Websites

Comment éviter le plagiat

Savez-vous comment éviter le plagiat? Êtes-vous certains que vous citez vos sources convenablement? Il n’est en effet pas toujours facile de citer de manière correcte les idées et les résultats d’autres personnes. Cependant, des mauvais comportements peuvent avoir des conséquences.

Ici, vous trouverez des informations sur les bonnes pratiques scientifiques et sur le plagiat. Vous pouvez vous renseigner sur comment citer convenablement les oeuvres d’autres personnes, comment éviter le plagiat et comprendre pourquoi il est nécessaire de respecter les idées des autres personnes.

Consultez les FAQs afin de trouver des réponses à vos questions sur le plagiat, trouvez des explications plus détaillées dans la section “base de connaissance” et découvrez notre offre de formation et de webinars à ce propos. Dans la dernière section vous pouvez trouver une sélection de ressources externes sur le plagiat qui peuvent s’avérer utiles.

FAQs

Citations

4.1.2-1 Lorsque je fais une citation, dois-je toujours mentionner l’auteur?

Oui. Lorsque la source contient une désignation d’auteur, cet auteur doit être mentionné (art. 25, al. 2 LDA). La citation du nom et de la source n’est pas prescrite uniquement par la loi sur le droit d’auteur; les bonnes pratiques scientifiques comprennent également des obligations sur la manière correcte de citer.

5.5-1 A-t-on le droit de citer des extraits de films, de musique, d’images?

Oui, bien que la question ait été controversée dans la doctrine, la citation d’images et d’autres œuvres est également reconnue aujourd’hui. Il est important de signaler également les images, les films et la musique comme des citations et de mentionner correctement les sources (art. 25 LDA).

5.5-2 Ai-je le droit d’utiliser une citation dans une œuvre que je diffuse en ligne, par ex. une image ou un extrait de musique sur mon site Internet?

Oui, selon la loi, peu importe le média dans lequel une citation est utilisée (livre, image, site Internet, appli, film...). Ce qui est déterminant en revanche, c’est que la citation ait une fonction de commentaire, de référence ou de démonstration, que son but justifie son étendue et qu’elle soit indiquée en tant que citation, avec mention de la source (art. 25, al. 2 LDA).

5.5-3 Pour une présentation PowerPoint, ai-je le droit de simplement chercher une image sur Google et de l’intégrer dans ma présentation?

S’il s’agit d’une œuvre protégée par le droit d’auteur (et c’est en général le cas), l’image ne peut être utilisée qu’avec le consentement de l’auteur ou du titulaire de droits. L’image peut toutefois être intégrée dans la présentation sous forme de «citation picturale». Alors, toutefois, elle doit avoir une fonction de commentaire, de référence ou de démonstration, le but de la citation doit justifier son étendue et elle doit être indiquée comme citation, avec mention de la source (art. 25, al. 2 LDA).

5.5-4 Une œuvre non divulguée peut-elle être citée?

Non, en principe seules des œuvres divulguées peuvent être citées. Dans des cas particuliers, cependant, la protection d’intérêts légitimes peut être un motif justifiant la citation d’une œuvre même non divulguée. Par exemple, l’intérêt public à faire la lumière sur des circonstances historiques peut peser plus lourd que l’intérêt de l’auteur à ne pas vouloir divulguer son œuvre (cf. décision de la Cour constitutionnelle fédérale allemande BVerfG, Beschluss vom 17.12.1999 - 1 BvR 1611/99, dans ZUM 2000, 316).

5.5-5 Ai-je le droit de citer dans un nouvel article, sans indiquer exactement la source, un extrait d’un article scientifique dont je suis co-auteure?

Non, sans la mention de la source, ce serait un plagiat (autoplagiat). Selon les bonnes pratiques scientifiques, personne n’a le droit de copier quoi que ce soit sans le signaler, même à partir de ses propres œuvres.

Qu'est-ce qui est protégé?

2.2.1-1 Qu’est-ce qui peut poser des problèmes dans la protection des droits d’auteur sur des œuvres scientifiques?

Ce que l’on appelle l’idée scientifique; celle-ci n’est pas protégée par le droit d’auteur. Il peut s’agir d’opinions, de découvertes et de résultats à partir d’états, de processus, de recherches et d’autres faits. Il n’y a pas là de contenu proprement créatif.

2.2.1-2 Pour une conférence, un enseignant tire des données biographiques d’une thèse d’une doctorante sur la vie et l’œuvre d’une psychanalyste, mais ne cite pas la thèse. Est-ce une violation des droits d’auteur?

Non, car les données biographiques sont des notes faisant partie du domaine public; la doctorante ne les a pas développées d’une manière créatrice (pour approfondir, voir la décision du Tribunal fédéral ATF 113 II 306).

2.2.1-3 Une hypothèse (théorie) exposée dans un travail scientifique est-elle protégée par le droit d’auteur?

Oui et non: le sens profond de l’hypothèse n’est pas protégé par le droit d’auteur. Elle est une opinion scientifique et doit être librement accessible à la science. Si toutefois cette hypothèse a été exprimée, au niveau du langage, de manière créative et individuelle, cette forme langagière, elle au moins, est protégée. En conséquence, si l’hypothèse est reprise mot pour mot par un tiers, celui-ci devra respecter les obligations de l’art. 25 LDA relatives à la citation, faute de quoi il se sera arrogé la paternité de l’œuvre (plagiat).

2.2.1-4 Un manuel d’enseignement est-il protégé par le droit d’auteur?

En principe oui, si ce manuel ou des parties de ce manuel présentent des éléments créatifs et individuels. En particulier, la forme de la représentation peut être protégée, par ex. la structure du manuel, le genre et la composition des contenus, le langage de communication (par ex. par des images, des tableaux, des schémas etc.), la langue elle-même (par ex. un vocabulaire accessible à des non-spécialistes ou des descriptions empreintes d’humour).

Les méthodes (d’enseignement) ou les connaissances en elles-mêmes que le livre véhicule ne sont toutefois pas protégées, parce qu’en règle générale elles consistent à rassembler, pour transmettre un savoir, des éléments de ce qui était déjà connu, éprouvé, exploré par la recherche.

2.2.1-5 Les formules mathématiques, les règles ou les algorithmes sont-ils protégés par le droit d’auteur?

Non, si les formules, règles ou algorithmes développés sont purement décrits avec exactitude. Il n’y a pas là de place pour une créativité éventuelle. Si toutefois ils sont consignés dans des schémas, tableaux, illustrations, descriptions textuelles etc. conçus de manière caractéristique, ils peuvent être protégés par le droit d’auteur, à condition d’être suffisamment originaux et individuels.

Responsabilité & Sanction

6.5.2-1 Si j’omets de mentionner une source utilisée, puis-je être puni ?

Dans les cas où la loi le prescrit, quiconque omet de mentionner intentionnellement la source utilisée et, pour autant qu'il y soit désigné, l'auteur, sera, sur plainte du lésé, puni de l'amende (l’art. 68 LDA). L’omission d’indiquer la source est punie uniquement sur plainte et n’occasionne, sur le plan de la gravité, qu’une contravention qui ne sera pas inscrite au casier judiciaire.

L’omission de la source au niveau académique ou de la recherche représente aussi un acte contraire à la déontologie qui pourrait entraîner des sanctions disciplinaires (fraude scientifique).

Base de connaissance

Nous vous proposons des informations complémentaires sur différents aspects du plagiat:

 

Formation

Webinar sur le plagiat e les bonnes pratiques scientifiques

Ce webinar a été présenté en allemand par Danielle Kaufmann. Malheureusement, l’enregistrement du webinar n’est pas disponible.

PrintScreen_Slides_Danielle.png

Présentation

PrintScreen_Q&A_Plagiarism.png

Questions et réponses

 

Catalogue de formation

Dans le catalogue de formation vous pouvez découvrir notre vaste sélection de sujets et de formats de cours, parmi lesquels vous pouvez par exemple trouver un cours sur le plagiat et les bonnes pratiques scientifique dans le contexte académique ("Plagiarism & Good Scientific Practices in Academic Writing”, p. 12).

TrainingCatalogu_CoverImage.png

Catalogue de formation

 

Service de conseil

En cas de question, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter par e-mail (info@ccdigitallaw.ch), par téléphone (+41 78 720 01 13) ou par chat.

Les étudiants et les employés de l’USI ont aussi la possibilité de réserver une séance de tutorat sur le plagiat. Ecrivez-nous: info@ccdigitallaw.ch

Horaire du service de conseil en ligne

Horaires et responsables

Nous sommes en train de réorganiser notre service de conseil! Nous vous communiquerons bientôt les nouveaux horaires du service de conseil. Merci pour votre compréhension.

Ressources externes

Ressources vidéo

Times I Plagiarized (The Odd1sOut)

Acceptable/Unacceptable (University of Alberta)

 

Sites web  / ressources suisses

Sites web internationaux

de gb fr it