Publishing on Social Media

Have you ever wondered whether you are allowed to share your latest scientific publication on Facebook or upload pictures, taken by others to Instagram? Do you know what legal aspects (e.g. copyright, data protection) you have to consider when you upload and share a work on social media channels? How, and to what extent are you allowed to use, re-use or re-post works on your social media environments?

Here you can find useful information on what legal aspects you have to consider when publishing on social media channels. Look through the available FAQs to find answers to frequently asked questions, deepen your knowledge by reading through some texts in the knowledge base and explore available trainings and webinars on the topic. At the end you can also find a selection of useful external resources on legal aspects of publishing on social media.

FAQs

1.5-1 A professor teaching at the University of Neuchâtel and Lyon wants to publish a photo that he took of Zurich station and which features the Niki de Saint Phalle sculpture on his French-language blog on railway history. How should this be approached?

The lecturer’s blog can be considered as aimed at French and Swiss audiences, which implies that France and Switzerland can be considered as the places where the work can be accessed. While the use of the photo may not cause any problems in Switzerland (here the limiting provision of Article 27 of the Swiss Copyright Act, works on premises open to the public, applies), this kind of limiting provision does not exist in France. The artist’s successors in title may claim an infringement of their copyrights (use of the photos without consent) in France.

2.2.8-2 May I embed a third-party YouTube video in my own website or in a social network so that a "framing" link is placed (i.e. which not only results in a reference to the YouTube page but also causes the video to appear as a whole)?

The question has not yet been conclusively settled in Switzerland. Therefore, you first need to assume that a "third-party link" is unlawful without the consent of the author or the owner of rights. In the EU, on the other hand, this is permitted under particular conditions (ECJ, Judgement dated 21.10.2014, C-348/13). Here it is argued that a YouTube user (holder of the copyright) usually uploads their video to YouTube with the intention of making the film freely available to the public domain. When a third party then makes this YouTube film available on another website or in a social network, it can literally be viewed by a wider public. However, if and insofar as this work is freely available on YouTube, it must be assumed that the owner of the copyright has considered the likelihood of it being replayed for all Internet users as the public.

4.1.1-2 Has a work been published for the first time if a student posts her homework on Facebook?

This question can unfortunately not be answered with a clear 'yes' or 'no'. According to current trends, one probably has to assume that it was published for the first time as the student makes her homework available to a larger group of people. Everybody should know by now that Facebook users have virtually no control over the sharing of their posts. Even if the student only makes her homework available to a private circle (e.g. a selected group of Facebook friends), there is no guarantee that the Facebook friends in question will not share the homework with other people who are not known to the student.

5.2.1-4 Do my ‘Facebook friends’ have such a close relationship to me that I can invoke private use in the personal sphere or in a private circle?

Generally speaking, no; such a close connection does not occur between ‘Facebook friends’. Legal doctrine (still) assumes that contacts which have been made on the Internet do not apply in this case. The close connection just arises in a small, strictly limited circle of people, which is not the case for Facebook friends.

5.7-1 Is it possible to add subtitles to a video of a song and upload it on youtube in order to facilitate the perception of this work to deaf people?

No, it is not possible to do so. Art. 24c CopA allows to to make a modified copy of a protected work of art, in a form which is accessible to people with disabilities. Such copies of the work may only be produced and placed on the market for non-commercial purposes, and only for the use of people with disabilities. In this case the copy is made accessible to everyone on youtube. Sothis reproduction is not allowed.

Training

Webinar on Copyright & Social Media:

This webinar was held in English by Yves Bauer. Here you can access the recording of the webinar, the presentation slides and the Q&A factsheet.  

 

 

Training Catalogue:

Inside the training catalogue you can find a vast selection of training topics and formats, among which also a course on "Social Media and Legal Issues" (p.16) 

 

Advising

For any questions please do not hesitate to contact us either by e-mail (info@ccdigitallaw.ch), phone  (+41 58 666 49 30) or online chat:

Online Chat Times

English: responsible Melanie Graf (MLaw) - tel. +41 61 207 31 22, Live-Chat on Wednesday from 10:00-12:00 

French: responsible Yves Bauer (MLaw) - tel. +41 78 720 01 13, Live-Chat on Tuesday from 10:00-12:00

Italian: responsible lic. iur. Marcello Baggi - tel. +41 58 666 49 30, Live-Chat on Monday from 10:00-12:00

German: responsible Melanie Graf (MLaw) - tel. +41 61 207 31 22, Live-Chat on Wednesday from 10:00-12:00

 

External Resources

Swiss Websites / Resources:

International Websites / Resources:

Terms of Services and Conditions:

Facebook_Icon copy.jpg Facebook terms of service
Twitter_Icon copy.jpg Twitter terms of service
Instagram_Icon copy.jpg Instagram terms of service
LinkedIn_Icon copy.jpg LinkedIn User Agreement
YouTube_Icon copy.jpg YouTube terms of service

Publier sur les médias sociaux

Savez-vous si vous êtes autorisés à partager votre dernière publication scientifique sur Facebook ou à télécharger des photos, prises par d’autres personnes, sur Instagram? Connaissez-vous les aspects juridiques (p.ex. Droit d’auteur, protection des données) qu’il faut prendre en compte lorsque l'on télécharge ou que l'on partage une oeuvre sur les réseaux sociaux? Comment, et dans quelle mesure êtes-vous autorisés à utiliser, réutiliser ou republier des oeuvres sur les médias sociaux?

Ici, vous trouverez des informations utiles sur les aspects juridiques que vous devez prendre en considération lorsque vous publiez des oeuvres sur les médias sociaux. Consultez les FAQs disponibles pour trouver des réponses aux questions les plus posées, lisez les textes de la base de connaissance pour aller plus loin et découvrez notre offre de formation et de webinars à ce propos.  Dans la dernière section, vous pouvez trouver une sélection de ressources externes sur les aspects juridiques de la publication sur les médias sociaux.

FAQs

1.5-1 Pour illustrer son blog francophone consacré à l'histoire ferroviaire, un professeur de l'Université de Neuchâtel souhaite publier une photo avec la sculpture de Niki de Saint Phalle de la gare de Zurich. Quelle analyse faire?

Le blog du professeur peut être considéré comme destiné au public français et suisse, impliquant un lieu de réception en France comme en Suisse. Hors si l'utilisation de la photo peut ne pas poser problème en Suisse (exception de panorama, art. 27 de la LDA), une telle exception n'existe pas en France, et les ayants droit de l'artiste pourrait s'opposer à cette utilisation sans autorisation en invoquant la réception du site par un public français.

2.2.8-2 A-t-on le droit d’intégrer, sur son propre site Internet ou dans un réseau social, une vidéo YouTube par le biais du framing (par un lien qui non seulement fait référence à la page YouTube, mais encore fait apparaître la vidéo entière)?

Cette question n’est pas encore entièrement clarifiée en Suisse, c’est pourquoi il faut d’abord considérer qu’un «lien incorporant» n’est pas licite sans le consentement de l’auteur ou du titulaire de droits. Dans l’UE en revanche, c’est autorisé à certaines conditions (CJUE, arrêt du 21.10.2014, réf. C-348/13). La Cour a ici développé l’argument qu’un utilisateur de YouTube (titulaire du droit d’auteur) téléversait généralement sa vidéo sur YouTube dans l’intention de mettre son film à la libre disposition du public. Si un tiers présente ensuite ce film YouTube sur un autre site Internet ou dans un réseau social, on peut supposer que le public qui le percevra sera différent, pour ainsi dire élargi. Toutefois, dans la mesure où cette œuvre a été placée sur YouTube en libre accès, on peut considérer que le titulaire du droit d’auteur a envisagé des reproductions pour tous les utilisateurs d’Internet en tant que public.

4.1.1-2 Y a-t-il une divulgation lorsqu’un étudiant publie sur Facebook un devoir qu’il a réalisé à domicile?

Il n’est malheureusement pas possible de répondre concrètement par oui ou par non à cette question. La tendance est certes à considérer que cela constitue une divulgation. L’élément déterminant est de savoir si l’étudiant rend son travail accessible à un grand nombre de personnes. Chacun devrait être conscient que les utilisateurs de Facebook ne sont pas vraiment en mesure de contrôler ce qu’ils ont publié. Même si l’étudiant ne rend son travail à domicile accessible qu’à un cercle privé (par ex. à une sélection «d’amis Facebook», il ne peut pas garantir que ses «amis Facebook» ne vont pas mettre en circulation le travail dans un cercle de personnes inconnues.

5.2.1-4 Mes «amis Facebook» me sont-ils étroitement liés au point que je puisse invoquer l’usage privé au sens étroit?

En principe non, il ne naît pas des liens aussi étroits avec les «amis Facebook». La doctrine juridique considère (encore) que les contacts qui sont nés sur Internet ne sont pas de cette nature. Le cercle de personnes étroitement liées est petit et étroitement restreint, ce qui n’est justement pas le cas des amis Facebook.

5.7-1 Est-il possible d’ajouter des sous-titres à une vidéo ou une chanson, puis de l’uploader sur Youtube afin de faciliter la perception de l’oeuvre en question pour les personnes sourdes?

Non, ça n’est pas possible. L’article 24c LDA permet la modification d’une oeuvre afin de la rendre accessible aux personnes atteintes de déficiences sensorielles. Ces oeuvres modifiées peuvent uniquement être mises sur le marché pour un usage non-commercial, et uniquement à destination de personnes atteintes de déficiences sensorielles. Dans le cas en question, l’oeuvre modifiée est accessible à tous sur Youtube. Cette reproduction n’est donc pas permise.

Formation

Webinar sur le droit d'auteur et les médias sociaux

Ce webinar a été présenté en anglais par Yves Bauer. Ici vous pouvez consulter l’enregistrement du webinar, la présentation ainsi que les questions et les réponses soulevées.

 

PrintScreen_Webinar_Yves.png

Enregistrement du webinar

PrintScreen_Slides_SocialMedia.png

Présentation

PrintScreen_Q&A_SocialMedia.png

Questions et réponses

 

Catalogue de formation

Dans le catalogue de formation vous trouverez une vaste sélection de sujets et de formats de cours, parmi lesquels un cours sur les aspects juridiques des médias sociaux ("Social Media and Legal Issues", p.16).

TrainingCatalogu_CoverImage.png

Catalogue de formation

 

Service de conseil

En cas de question, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter par e-mail (info@ccdigitallaw.ch), par téléphone (+41 78 720 01 13) ou par chat.

Horaire du service de conseil en ligne

Français: responsable: Yves Bauer (MLaw) - tel. +41 78 720 01 13, Live-Chat: mardi, 10:00-12:00

Italien: responsable: lic. iur. Marcello Baggi - tel. +41 58 666 49 30, Live-Chat: lundi, 10:00-12:00

Allemand: responsable: Melanie Graf (MLaw) - tel. +41 61 207 31 22, Live-Chat: mercredi, 10:00-12:00

Anglais: responsable: Melanie Graf (MLaw) - tel. +41 61 207 31 22, Live-Chat: mercredi, 10:00-12:00;

 

Ressources externes

Sites web  / ressources suisses