How to avoid Plagiarism

Have you ever written an article and wondered how to avoid plagiarism? Are you sure to cite sources correctly? In fact it is not always easy to know how to correctly report and refer to ideas and findings of other people. However, wrong behaviors can have consequences.

Here you can find many information on what good scientific practices and plagiarism are, on how to cite other people’s work correctly, on how to avoid plagiarism and on why it is important to respect other people’s ideas.

Have a look at the FAQs to find answers to your questions about plagiarism, find more detailed explanations in the Knowledge Base section and explore available trainings or webinars on the topic. In the last section you can find a selection of useful external resources about plagiarism.

FAQs

Citations / Quotes

4.1.2-1 When I quote from a work, do I always have to mention the author?

Yes. Where the source indicates the author's designation, the author's name must also be cited, Art. 25 para. 2 CopA. It should be noted that quotations are not only governed by copyright law; it is also good scientific practice to provide correct quotations.

5.5-1 May a person cite excerpts of film, music and images?

Yes, even if they have been the subject of controversy in the literature to date, images and work excerpts are now recognised. However, in the process, it is important that you also disclose images, films and music as quotations, and correctly specify the source (Art. 25 CopA).

5.5-2 May I use a quotation in a work that has been put online? For example, an image or a music excerpt on my homepage?

Yes, pursuant to the law, it is irrelevant in which medium (book, pictorial, homepage, app, film,…) a quotation is used. However, it is decisive that the quotation has an explanatory, informational or illustrative function, is covered in the scope of the purpose of the quote, is disclosed as a quote, and the source is specified (Art. 25 para. 2 CopA).

May I just select an image from Google for a PowerPoint presentation and insert it into my presentation without any further ado?

If the image is a copyright-protected work (and that is generally the case), then it may only be used with the consent of the author and the owner of rights. However, the image can be entered into the presentation as a ‘pictorial quotation’. Then it has to serve an explanatory, informational or illustrative function, be covered in the scope of the purpose of the quote, be disclosed as a quote and the source specified (Art. 25 para. 2 CopA).

5.5-4 May I quote an unpublished work?

No, only published works may be quoted. However, in individual cases, the justification of the protection of legitimate interests may exist so that the quotation of unpublished works can also be justified. For example, public interest in a dispute with historical facts is ranked more highly than the interest of the author not to publish his work. (c.f. BVerfG, decision dated 17.12.1999 - 1 BvR 1611/99 in ZUM 2000, 316 in this regard).

5.5-5 May I cite an extract from a scientific article in which I am the co-author without citing exact sources in a new article?

No, if the source is not given, this is considered to be (auto-)plagiarism. In accordance with good scientific practice, you are not permitted to copy from yourself without disclosing that you have done so.

What is protected?

2.2.1-1 What can be problematic in the case of the copyright protection of scientific works?

The scientific idea is not protected by copyright. This includes statements, discoveries and results from states, events, research and other facts. These have no creative content of their own.

2.2.1-2 May a university lecturer use the biographical information from a PhD student’s thesis on the life and work of a psychoanalyst for a presentation without citing the thesis? Can this be considered an infringement of copyright?

No, because biographical data is considered to be in the public domain as it was not creatively developed by the PhD student (for more information, see the decision of the Federal Supreme Court BGE 113 II 306).

2.2.1-3 Is a theory presented in a scientific work protected by copyright?

Yes and no: the theory is not protected by copyright in its semantic content. It is a scientific statement and must be freely available to science. If the theory is designed creatively and individually in linguistic terms, it is at least protected in this linguistic form. If the theory is used word-for-word by a third party, the exception of quotation must be observed pursuant to Art. 25 CopA; otherwise, the presumption of a work exists (plagiarism).

2.2.1-4 Is a teaching book or a textbook protected by copyright?

Basically yes, when the textbook or parts of it have creative and individual elements. The form of representation in particular can be protected, i.e. the structure of the textbook, the way the contents are put together, the form of linguistic communication (e.g. through images, tables, diagrams, etc.), the language itself (e.g. for laypeople without specialist vocabulary or humorous descriptions).

However, the (teaching) methods or the knowledge about them which is transmitted by the book are not protected because parts of already known, tested and researched matter are summarised for the purpose of knowledge transfer.

2.2.1-5 Are mathematical formulas, regulations or algorithms protected by copyright?

No, only when the developed formulas, regulations or algorithms are only rewritten exactly. Then there is no space for any creativeness. However, if they are recorded in specially thought up plans, tables, images, text descriptions, etc., they can be protected works if they are sufficiently original and individual.

Responsibility & Sanction

6.5.2-1 If I fail to indicate a source I have used, can I be punished?

Any person who intentionally omits to indicate the source used where required by statute and where the author is named therein, and to provide the name of the source is liable to a fine on the complaint of the person whose rights have been infringed (Art. 68 CopA). Failure to indicate the source is punishable only following a complaint and is not considered to be a serious enough contravention to be entered on the offender’s criminal record.

In addition, failure to indicate a source at an academic level or in research is considered to be unethical (violation of good scientific practice) and may lead to disciplinary action.

Knowledgebase

Find more detailed information on various aspects regarding plagiarism: 

 

Training

Webinar on Plagiarism & Good Scientific Practices

This webinar was held in German by Danielle Kaufmann. Unfortunately, the recording of the webinar is not available. 

 

Training Catalogue

Inside the training catalogue you can find a vast selection of training topics and formats, among which also a course on "Plagiarism & Good Scientific Practices in Academic Writing" (p. 12).
 

 

Advising

For any questions please do not hesitate to contact us either by e-mail (info@ccdigitallaw.ch), phone  (+41 58 666 49 30) or online chat:

USI students/employees can also book a tutoring session on plagiarism by writing an e-mail to info@ccdigitallaw.ch.

Oline Chat Times

English: responsible Melanie Graf (MLaw) - tel. +41 61 207 31 22, Live-Chat on Wednesday from 10:00-12:00 

French: responsible Yves Bauer (MLaw) - tel. +41 78 720 01 13, Live-Chat on Tuesday from 10:00-12:00

Italian: responsible lic. iur. Marcello Baggi - tel. +41 58 666 49 30, Live-Chat on Monday from 10:00-12:00

German: responsible Melanie Graf (MLaw) - tel. +41 61 207 31 22, Live-Chat on Wednesday from 10:00-12:00

 

External Resources

Video resources:

Times I Plagiarized (by The Odd1sOut)

Acceptable/Unacceptable (by University of Alberta)

 

Swiss Websites / Resources

International Websites

Plagiate vermeiden

Hast du je eine wissenschaftliche Arbeit geschrieben und dich gefragt, wie du ein Plagiat vermeiden kannst? Bist du dir sicher, wie du Quellen richtig zitierst? Das korrekte Wiedergeben und Verweisen auf bestehende Ideen und Erkenntnisse von anderen Personen ist nicht immer einfach.

Hier findest du Informationen über die gute wissenschaftliche Praxis und Plagiate. Lerne wie du fremde Quellen richtig zitierst und wieso Quellenverweise auf bereits existierende Ideen und Erkenntnisse wichtig sind.

In den FAQs findest du Antworten auf gängige Fragen zum Plagiat und richtigem Zitieren. Genauere Erklärungen findest du In der Wissensdatenbank. Besuche auch die Schulungen und das Webinar zum Thema Plagiat. Weiter unten findest du Links zu externen Informationen.

 

FAQs

Zitate

4.1.2-1 Muss ich bei einem Zitat immer den Urheber angeben?

Ja. Wenn die Quelle eine Urheberbezeichnung enthält, dann muss der Urheber angegeben werden, Art. 25 Abs. 2 URG. Zu beachten ist, dass man aber nicht nur nach Urhebergesetz zum Zitieren verpflichtet ist; auch aus der sog. guten wissenschaftlichen Praxis ergeben sich Pflichten zum richtigen Zitieren.

5.5-1 Darf man Film-, Musik- Bildausschnitte zitieren?

Ja, auch wenn es bis dahin in der Lehre umstritten war, werden heute das Bildzitat und andere Werkzitate anerkannt. Wichtig dabei ist aber, dass man auch Bilder, Filme, Musik, als Zitate ausweist und die Quelle korrekt angibt (Art. 25 URG).

5.5-2 Darf ich ein Zitat in einem online gestellten Werk verwenden? Z.B. ein Bild oder ein Musikausschnitt auf meiner Homepage?

Ja, nach Gesetz ist es unerheblich, in welchem Medium (Buch, Bild, Homepage, App, Film, …) ein Zitat verwendet wird. Entscheidend ist aber, dass das Zitat eine Erläuterungs-, Hinweis- oder Veranschaulichungsfunktion hat, im Umfang vom Zitatzweck gedeckt ist und als Zitat ausgewiesen ist und die Quelle angegeben ist (Art. 25 Abs. 2 URG).

5.5-3 Darf ich für eine Power-Point-Präsentation mir aus Google einfach ein Bild suchen und dieses ohne Weiteres in meine Präsentation einfügen?

Wenn es sich um ein urheberrechtlich geschütztes Werk handelt (und das ist in den meisten Fällen so), dann darf das Bild nur mit Einwilligung des Urhebers oder Rechteinhabers verwendet werden. Allerdings kann das Bild als sog. “Bildzitat” in die Präsentation eingefügt werden. Dann muss es aber einer Erläuterungs-, Hinweis- oder Veranschaulichungsfunktion dienen, im Umfang vom Zitatzweck gedeckt sein und als Zitat ausgewiesen sein und die Quelle muss angegeben werden (Art. 25 Abs. 2 URG).

5.5-4 Darf ein nicht veröffentlichtes Werk zitiert werden?

Nein, grundsätzlich dürfen nur veröffentlichte Werke zitiert werden. Allerdings kann im Einzelfall der Rechtfertigungsgrund der Wahrung berechtigter Interessen vorliegen, so dass auch das Zitieren eines unveröffentlichten Werkes gerechtfertigt sein kann. Zum Beispiel kann das öffentliche Interesse an der Auseinandersetzung mit historischen Gegebenheiten höherrangig gewertet werden, als das Interesse des Urhebers, sein Werk nicht veröffentlichen zu wollen (vgl. dazu BVerfG, Beschluss vom 17.12.1999 - 1 BvR 1611/99 in ZUM 2000, 316).

5.5-5 Darf ich einen Ausschnitt aus einem wissenschaftlichen Artikel, bei dem ich Co-Autorin bin, ohne genaue Quellenangaben in einem neuen Artikel zitieren?

Nein, ohne Quellenangabe liegt sonst ein sog. (Auto-)plagiat vor. Man darf gemäss der guten wissenschaftlichen Praxis auch nicht bei sich selber abschreiben ohne dies offenzulegen.

Was ist geschützt?

2.2.1-1 Was kann beim Urheberschutz von wissenschaftlichen Werken problematisch sein?

Die sog. wissenschaftliche Idee; diese ist nicht urheberrechtlich geschützt. Darunter fallen Aussagen, Entdeckungen und Ergebnisse aus Zuständen, Vorgängen, Forschungen und anderen Tatsachen. Diese haben keinen eigenen schöpferischen kreativen Gehalt.

2.2.1-2 Ein Dozent übernimmt aus einer Dissertation einer Doktorandin zum Leben und Schaffen einer Psychoanalytikerin deren biografische Daten für einen Vortrag, ohne die Dissertation zu zitieren? Liegt eine Urheberrechtsverletzung vor?

Nein, denn die biografischen Daten sind gemeinfreie Aussagen, die nicht schöpferisch kreativ von der Doktorandin entwickelt worden sind. (tiefergehend hierzu die Entscheidung des Bundesgerichts BGE 113 II 306).

2.2.1-3 Ist eine in einer wissenschaftlichen Arbeit aufgestellte These (Theorie) urheberrechtlich geschützt?

Nein und ja: die These in ihrem Sinngehalt ist nicht urheberrechtlich geschützt. Sie ist eine wissenschaftliche Aussage und muss der Wissenschaft frei zugänglich sein. Ist die These allerdings sprachlich so kreativ und individuell gestaltet worden, ist zumindest diese sprachliche Form geschützt. Wird die These daher wortwörtlich von einem Dritten übernommen, muss die Zitierpflicht nach Art. 25 URG beachten werden; andernfalls liegt eine Werksanmassung (Plagiat) vor.

2.2.1-4 Ist ein Unterrichts- oder Lehrbuch urheberrechtlich geschützt?

Grundsätzlich ja, wenn das Lehrbuch oder Teile davon schöpferische und individuelle Elemente aufweisen. Geschützt kann insbesondere die Darstellungsform sein, so z.B. der Aufbau des Lehrbuchs, die Art der Zusammenstellung von Inhalten, die sprachliche Mitteilungsform (z.B. durch Bilder, Tabellen, Schemata etc.), die Sprache selber (z.B. für Laien ohne Fachvokabular oder humorvolle Beschreibungen).

Die (Lehr-)Methoden oder das Wissen an sich, welches durch das Buch vermittelt wird, sind allerdings nicht geschützt, weil in der Regel Teile aus bereits Bekanntem, Erprobtem, Erforschtem zur Wissensvermittlung zusammengeführt wird.

2.2.1-5 Sind mathematische Formeln, Regeln oder Algorithmen urheberrechtlich geschützt?

Nein, wenn die entwickelten Formeln, Regeln oder Algorithmen nur exakt umschrieben werden. Denn dann besteht kein Raum für etwaige schöpferische Kreativität. Werden sie allerdings in eigens erdachten Schemata, Tabellen, Bildern, Textbeschreibungen etc. festgehalten, können sie urheberrechtlich geschützte Werke sein, wenn sie genügend originell und individuell sind.

Verantwortung & Sanktionen

6.5.2-1 Mache ich mich bei Unterlassung der Quellenangabe strafbar?

Wer es vorsätzlich unterlässt, in den gesetzlich vorgesehenen Fällen die benutzte Quelle und, falls er in ihr genannt ist, den Urheber anzugeben, wird auf Antrag der in ihren Rechten verletzten Person mit Busse bestraft (Art. 68 URG). Die Unterlassung der Quellenangabe ist ausschliesslich auf Antrag strafbar und beinhaltet aufgrund ihres Schweregrades einzig eine Busse, die keinen Eintrag ins Strafregister zur Folge hat.

Im akademischen und im Forschungsumfeld stellt die Unterlassung der Quellenangabe einen Verstoss gegen die gute wissenschaftliche Praxis dar. Disziplinarmassnahmen sind eine mögliche Folge eines solchen Verstosses.

Wissensdatenbank

Genauere Erklärungen und detaillierte Informationen zum Thema Plagiate und richtiges Zitieren können in folgenden Kapiteln gefunden werden: 

Schulungen

Webinar über Plagiat und gute wissenschaftliche Praktiken

Dieses Webinar wurde von Danielle Kaufmann in deutscher Sprache gehalten.  Hier haben Sie Zugriff auf die Präsentationsfolien und das Q&A Merkblatt. Die Webinaraufnahme ist leider nicht verfügbar.

PrintScreen_Slides_Danielle.png

Presentationsfolien

PrintScreen_Q&A_Plagiarism.png

Q&A Merkblatt

 

Schulungskatalog

Im Schulungskatalog findest du ein breites Kursangebot von CCdigitallaw, unter anderen einen Kurs zu Plagiaten und guter wissenschaftlicher Praxis (S. 12).

TrainingCatalogu_CoverImage.png

Schulungskatalog

 

Beratung

Bei Fragen stehen wir Ihnen gerne zur Verfügung. Sie können uns per E-Mail (info@ccdigitallaw.ch), Telefon (+41 58 666 49 30) oder Online Chat kontaktieren.

Weiter können USI Studenten/Angestellte per E-Mail (info@ccdigitallaw.ch) eine Tutoring Session zu Plagiaten anfordern.

Online Chat Zeitfenster

Wir arbeiten momentan an der Reorganisation unseres Helpdesk-Service. In Kürze werden wir Sie über die neuen Helpdeskzeiten informieren. Vielen Dank für Ihr Verständnis.

Externe Ressourcen

Videoressourcen

Times I Plagiarized (The Odd1sOut) - en

Acceptable/Unacceptable (Alberta Universität) - en

 

Schweizer Webseiten / Ressouorcen

Internationale Webseiten