Publishing on Social Media

Have you ever wondered whether you are allowed to share your latest scientific publication on Facebook or upload pictures, taken by others to Instagram? Do you know what legal aspects (e.g. copyright, data protection) you have to consider when you upload and share a work on social media channels? How, and to what extent are you allowed to use, re-use or re-post works on your social media environments?

Here you can find useful information on what legal aspects you have to consider when publishing on social media channels. Look through the available FAQs to find answers to frequently asked questions, deepen your knowledge by reading through some texts in the knowledge base and explore available trainings and webinars on the topic. At the end you can also find a selection of useful external resources on legal aspects of publishing on social media.

FAQs

1.5-1 A professor teaching at the University of Neuchâtel and Lyon wants to publish a photo that he took of Zurich station and which features the Niki de Saint Phalle sculpture on his French-language blog on railway history. How should this be approached?

The lecturer’s blog can be considered as aimed at French and Swiss audiences, which implies that France and Switzerland can be considered as the places where the work can be accessed. While the use of the photo may not cause any problems in Switzerland (here the limiting provision of Article 27 of the Swiss Copyright Act, works on premises open to the public, applies), this kind of limiting provision does not exist in France. The artist’s successors in title may claim an infringement of their copyrights (use of the photos without consent) in France.

2.2.8-2 May I embed a third-party YouTube video in my own website or in a social network so that a "framing" link is placed (i.e. which not only results in a reference to the YouTube page but also causes the video to appear as a whole)?

The question has not yet been conclusively settled in Switzerland. Therefore, you first need to assume that a "third-party link" is unlawful without the consent of the author or the owner of rights. In the EU, on the other hand, this is permitted under particular conditions (ECJ, Judgement dated 21.10.2014, C-348/13). Here it is argued that a YouTube user (holder of the copyright) usually uploads their video to YouTube with the intention of making the film freely available to the public domain. When a third party then makes this YouTube film available on another website or in a social network, it can literally be viewed by a wider public. However, if and insofar as this work is freely available on YouTube, it must be assumed that the owner of the copyright has considered the likelihood of it being replayed for all Internet users as the public.

4.1.1-2 Has a work been published for the first time if a student posts her homework on Facebook?

This question can unfortunately not be answered with a clear 'yes' or 'no'. According to current trends, one probably has to assume that it was published for the first time as the student makes her homework available to a larger group of people. Everybody should know by now that Facebook users have virtually no control over the sharing of their posts. Even if the student only makes her homework available to a private circle (e.g. a selected group of Facebook friends), there is no guarantee that the Facebook friends in question will not share the homework with other people who are not known to the student.

5.2.1-4 Do my ‘Facebook friends’ have such a close relationship to me that I can invoke private use in the personal sphere or in a private circle?

Generally speaking, no; such a close connection does not occur between ‘Facebook friends’. Legal doctrine (still) assumes that contacts which have been made on the Internet do not apply in this case. The close connection just arises in a small, strictly limited circle of people, which is not the case for Facebook friends.

5.7-1 Is it possible to add subtitles to a video of a song and upload it on youtube in order to facilitate the perception of this work to deaf people?

No, it is not possible to do so. Art. 24c CopA allows to to make a modified copy of a protected work of art, in a form which is accessible to people with disabilities. Such copies of the work may only be produced and placed on the market for non-commercial purposes, and only for the use of people with disabilities. In this case the copy is made accessible to everyone on youtube. Sothis reproduction is not allowed.

Training

Webinar on Copyright & Social Media:

This webinar was held in English by Yves Bauer. Here you can access the recording of the webinar, the presentation slides and the Q&A factsheet.  

 

 

Training Catalogue:

Inside the training catalogue you can find a vast selection of training topics and formats, among which also a course on "Social Media and Legal Issues" (p.16) 

 

Advising

For any questions please do not hesitate to contact us either by e-mail (info@ccdigitallaw.ch), phone  (+41 58 666 49 30) or online chat:

Online Chat Times

English: responsible Melanie Graf (MLaw) - tel. +41 61 207 31 22, Live-Chat on Wednesday from 10:00-12:00 

French: responsible Yves Bauer (MLaw) - tel. +41 78 720 01 13, Live-Chat on Tuesday from 10:00-12:00

Italian: responsible lic. iur. Marcello Baggi - tel. +41 58 666 49 30, Live-Chat on Monday from 10:00-12:00

German: responsible Melanie Graf (MLaw) - tel. +41 61 207 31 22, Live-Chat on Wednesday from 10:00-12:00

 

External Resources

Swiss Websites / Resources:

International Websites / Resources:

Terms of Services and Conditions:

Facebook_Icon copy.jpg Facebook terms of service
Twitter_Icon copy.jpg Twitter terms of service
Instagram_Icon copy.jpg Instagram terms of service
LinkedIn_Icon copy.jpg LinkedIn User Agreement
YouTube_Icon copy.jpg YouTube terms of service

Veröffentlichen auf sozialen Medien

Ist das posten deines neuesten wissenschaftlichen Artikels auf Facebook erlaubt? Dürfen Fotos von anderen Fotografen auf Instagram hochgeladen werden? Welche rechtlichen Aspekte sollten beim sharen von Inhalten auf sozialen Medien berücksichtigt werden? Was ist erlaubt, was nicht? Hier findest du Antworten auf diese Fragen.

FAQs geben Antwort auf gängige Fragen zum Veröffentlichen auf sozialen Medien und in der Wissensdatenbank können die Argumente vertieft werden. Unter Schulungen kannst du sehen was wir für Trainings zu dem Thema anbieten und welche Webinare zur Verfügung stehen. Zuletzt findest du Links zu externen Informationen.

FAQs

1.5-1 Für seinen französischsprachigen Blog “Eisenbahngeschichte" möchte ein Professor der Uni Neuchâtel ein Foto mit dem Engel von Niki de Saint Phalle verwenden, das er in der Zürcher Bahnhofshalle gemacht hat. Darf er das?

Der Blog des Professors kann dahingehend beurteilt werden, dass er einem französischen und schweizerischen Publikum zugänglich ist. Das heisst, dass sowohl die Schweiz als auch Frankreich als Abrufort gelten. Während die Nutzung des Fotos in der Schweiz kein Problem darstellen dürfte (das schweizerische Urheberrecht kennt diesbezüglich eine Schrankenregelung für Werke, die sich auf öffentlichem Grund befinden, Art. 27 URG, wonach diese uneingeschränkt genutzt werden dürfen), gibt es in Frankreich keine derartigen Ausnahmen. Eine Nutzung des Fotos in Frankreich (eben in dem Blog des Professors) ist ohne Einwilligung der Rechtsnachfolger der Künstlerin nicht möglich. Die Rechtsnachfolger könnten demnach eine Verletzung ihrer Rechte (Nutzung des Fotos ohne Einwilligung) in Frankreich einklagen mit der Begründung, das Werk werde in Frankreich ohne Einwilligung genutzt.

2.2.8-2 Darf man ein fremdes Youtube-Video auf eine eigene Website oder in einem sozialen Netzwerk einbetten, so dass ein “framender” Link gesetzt wird (also nicht nur ein Verweis auf die Youtube-Seite erfolgt sondern das Video als Ganzes erscheint)?

Die Frage ist in der Schweiz noch nicht abschliessend geklärt und deshalb muss man vorerst davon ausgehen, dass ein “framender Link” nicht ohne Einwilligung der Urheber oder Rechteinhaber zulässig ist. In der EU hingegen, ist das unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen erlaubt (EUGH, Beschluss vom 21.10.2014, Az. C-348/13). Hier wird argumentiert, dass ein Youtube-Nutzer (Inhaber des Urheberrechts) sein Video in Youtube in der Regel mit der Absicht hochlädt, seinen Film der Öffentlichkeit frei zur Verfügung stellen zu wollen. Wenn ein Dritter nun diesen Youtube-Film wiederum auf einer anderen Website oder in einem sozialen Netzwerk zugänglich macht, kann es von einem anderen, so zu sagen einem weiteren Publikum wahrgenommen werden. Sofern aber und soweit dieses Werk auf Youtube frei zugänglich ist, ist davon auszugehen, dass der Inhaber des Urheberrechts, an die Wiedergabe für alle Internetnutzer als Publikum gedacht hat.

4.1.1-2 Liegt eine Erstveröffentlichung vor, wenn ein Student eine von ihm erstellte Hausarbeit in “Facebook” einstellt?

Diese Frage kann leider nicht mit einem konkreten “Ja” oder “Nein” beantwortet werden. In der Tendenz wird man wohl annehmen müssen, dass eine Erstveröffentlichung vorliegt. Massgeblich ist, ob der Student seine Hausarbeit einem grösseren Personenkreis zugänglich macht. Hier sollte jedem bewusst sein, dass Facebook-Nutzer kaum in der Lage sind, die Verbreitung ihrer “Posts” kontrollieren zu können. Selbst wenn der Student die Hausarbeit nur einem privaten Kreis (z.B. einer Auswahl seiner “Facebook-Freunde”) zugänglich macht, kann er nicht sicherstellen, dass seine “Facebook-Freunde” die Hausarbeit weiter an einem dem Studenten unbekannten Personenkreis weiter verbreiten.

5.2.1-4 Sind meine “Facebook-Freunde” mit mir so eng verbunden, dass ich mich auf den privaten Eigengebrauch berufen kann?

Grundsätzlich nein, eine solche enge Verbundenheit entsteht bei “Facebook-Freunden” nicht. Juristische Lehrmeinungen gehen (noch) davon aus, dass Kontakte, die im Internet entstanden sind, nicht dazu gehören. Die enge Verbundenheit entsteht ja gerade durch einen kleinen eng begrenzten Personenkreis, was bei Facebook-Freunden eben nicht der Fall ist.

5.7-1 Ist es erlaubt einem Musikvideo Untertitel hinzuzufügen und dieses auf Youtube hochzuladen, um das Werk für taube oder hörgeschädigte Menschen wahrnehmbar zu machen?

Nein, dies von Art. 24c URG nicht erfasst. Werke dürfen in eine Form gebracht werden, welche für Menschen mit Behinderungen wahrnehmbar ist. Diese Werke dürfen aber nur ohne Gewinnzweck im Handel angeboten werden und ausschliesslich zum Gebrauch durch Menschen mit Behinderungen. Wird das Werk auf Youtube hochgeladen, haben alle Menschen zugang zu dem Werk. Dies ist nach Art. 24c URG nicht erlaubt.

Schulungen

Webinar über  Urheberrecht und soziale Medien

Dieses Webinar wurde von Yves Bauer auf Englisch gehalten. Hier hast du Zugriff auf die Webinaraufnahme, die Präsentationsfolien und das Q&A Merkblatt. 

 

PrintScreen_Webinar_Yves.png

Webinaraufnahme

PrintScreen_Slides_SocialMedia.png

Presentationsfolien

PrintScreen_Q&A_SocialMedia.png

Q&A Merkblatt

 

Schulungskatalog

Im Schulungskatalog findest du unser breites Kursangebot, unter anderen auch einen Kurs zur Veröffentlichung auf sozialen Meden (S. 16)

TrainingCatalogu_CoverImage.png

Schulungskatalog

 

Beratung

Bei Fragen stehen wir Ihnen gerne zur Verfügung. Sie können uns per E-Mail (info@ccdigitallaw.ch), Telefon (+41 58 666 49 30) oder Online Chat kontaktieren.

Online Chat Zeitfenster

Deutsch: zuständig Melanie Graf (MLaw) - tel. +41 61 207 31 22, Live-Chat: Mittwoch, 10:00-12:00

Französisch: zuständig Yves Bauer (MLaw) - tel. +41 78 720 01 13, Live-Chat: Dienstag, 10:00-12:00

Italienisch: zuständig lic. iur. Marcello Baggi - tel. +41 58 666 49 30, Live-Chat:  Montag, 10:00-12:00

Englisch: zuständig Melanie Graf (MLaw) - tel. +41 61 207 31 22, Live-Chat: Mittwoch, 10:00-12:00

Externe Ressourcen

Schweizer Webseiten / Ressourcen